The Pursuit of God

Serious Topics for Serious Christians

Asking God for Money

203

AUDIO VERSION: YouTube  Podbean

In this world, money is revered as a god. We’re taught to believe that money has the power to make our lives more comfortable and give us access to health, fame, power, and friends. And once we have all of these things, how can we not be satisfied?

Once we buy into the lie that money is the magic solution to all of our problems, of course we will want more of it, and in the Church you will find many teachers and preachers encouraging you to make money your god. Of course they won’t put it to you this way, but this is their bottom line, for once we’re willing to dishonor the real God in order to squeeze more money out of Him, it’s quite clear where our priorities lie. Many Christians love money more than they love God, and they were guided into that position by shepherds who claimed to be teaching them how to apply biblical promises. We don’t want this to happen to you, so we are going to teach you how to pray about the subject of money with the right attitude.

Whenever we talk to God, we want to be totally honest. We all struggle with greed, fear, and a lust for nice things that we can’t afford. These things come with the fallen flesh package, so don’t try to deny it and don’t beat yourself up about it. Just be honest.

“God, I really want more money. It seems like it would make my life so much easier.”

This is how you start, but don’t stop here because this focus isn’t going to take you in the right direction. We don’t want to spend our prayer time just focusing on our flesh. We want to acknowledge our desires, but then we need to go further and apply the wisdom God has given us. As Christians, there are three critical truths we need to bear in mind when we’re thinking about money.

1. God is intimately involved in every aspect of our lives. This means He is the One controlling how much money we have access to.

2. God knows what we need and He knows what is best for our souls. His priorities are far better than ours. We need to trust His wisdom.

3. It would be extremely foolish to ask God to compromise His best plan for our lives. If we want to thrive, we need to submit to His will in all things.

With these key principles in mind, we now continue our prayer.

“Even though I want more money, I know that my relationship with You is the far more important thing and I don’t want You to give me anything that would compromise that. I want Your best plan for my life. I want You to be pleased with me and honored by the way my life unfolds. I can’t help hoping that more money fits into Your future plans for me, but if it doesn’t, help me to stay aligned with You and to trust Your higher wisdom. Fill my soul with so much love for You that nothing else ever comes close to taking Your place in my heart. I want You to be my First Love, and I want pleasing You to be my first priority. Thank You that I can talk to You about everything. I know that You understand my human perspective and that You care about all my concerns. Make me everything that You want me to be. Help me find total satisfaction in You alone, and make everything else in my life go the way You want it to go. I love You. Help me to love You more every day.”

If this is the way you pray about money, then you are going to experience great progress in the faith. A prayer like this is keeping your focus where it needs to be: on God, not on material things. Notice that you are totally honest about what you want—this is how God wants it. Don’t try to pretend something isn’t important to you when He already knows that it is. Be honest. Be real. If you’re frustrated about your tight budget, say so. If you’re afraid of not being able to pay the bills, be honest about it. But then let the Holy Spirit guide your focus onto the things that really matter. God is with you. He is directing your life in a very purposeful way. He loves you more than you can even fathom. He has wonderful plans to satisfy your soul and He will fill you with deep joy and peace if you will align with His priorities. So by all means, present your requests to God. But always end by acknowledging that His ways are far better than yours and surrender your situation into His hands. This is how you will avoid getting sucked down the path of greed and bribery that so many Christians have strayed onto. Don’t try to butter God up in the hopes that He’ll feel obligated to bless you. Don’t throw extra money into the offering plate in hopes that He’ll return your gift tenfold. God detests this kind of hypocrisy. Can you blame Him? Do you enjoy being manipulated and schmoozed by your friends? God is not just some blessing vending machine. He is your King, Counselor, Father, and Friend. Treat Him with respect, cherish your relationship with Him, and you will go far in the faith.  

Comments are closed.

